Dune is a science fiction series by Frank Herbert. The first book, Dune, was published in 1965 and won the Nebula Award. The novel is considered one of the best of the genre of all time. Two films and a series have been made based on the books, and the 2021 film adaptation was a great success.

The plot of “Dune”

is set in a distant future where the entire known universe is united under the rule of a feudal empire. In this world, great dynasties rule over entire planets. At the center of the story is one of these families, the Atreides. The hungry hero Paul and his family are involved in a conspiracy to wipe them out. Forced by Emperor Shaddam to take control of the planet Arrakis and the extraction of the spice melenge, the Atreides dynasty gets caught up in the whirlpool of political games.


is a “spice” that is highly prized in the Empire. Its ingestion prolongs life, improves mental activity and is used in clairvoyant sessions. The spice is also valuable in intergalactic travel, as it allows Union navigators to predict the safest route.


is a desert planet where water is a luxury commodity. This harsh environment is dominated by sandworms, storms, and the tribes of the free. Melange can only be produced on Arrakis, and control of the planet is a coveted and dangerous endeavor, but the rewards are tantalizing. The plot explores the interplay of politics, religion, ecology, technology, and human emotions. All of this is woven into a multi-layered story that pits the various dynasties of the Empire against each other in the struggle for control of Arrakis and its spice.

The Dune series consists of the following books:

Dune Messiah
Children of Dune
God Emperor of Dune
Heretics of Dune
Chapterhouse: Dune

Dune novels – The official Dune website