“Malazan Book of the Fallen” is a series of epic fantasy novels written by Steven Erickson. The series consists of 10 published books. The first book in the series, Moon Gardens, was published by Steven Erikson in 1999.

In 2005, Esselmont began publishing his own series of six novels set in the same world. The series begins with the novel Night of the Knives. Esselmont’s series is called “Novels of the Malazan Empire”, but the authors work together on the plot of the entire project.

“Malazan Book of the Fallen” comprises 10 books by author Steven Erikson

1. Gardens of the Moon 1999.
2. Deadhouse Gates 2000.
3. Memories of Ice 2001.
4. House of Chains 2002.
5. Midnight Tides 2006.
6. The Bonehunters 2007.
7. Reaper’s Gale 2007.
8. Toll the Hounds 2008.
9. Dust of Dreams 2009.
10. The Crippled God 2011.

The series tells a complex story with a large scope and features the stories of a large number of characters. The authors build a world with several continents in which the Malazan Empire is set.

Erickson says that the plots in the series consist of three story arcs aligned at the vertices of a triangle. Steven Erikson’s first five books are fairly self-contained.

Malazan Book of the Fallen

Storylines in “Malazan Book of the Fallen”

The first book reveals the one storyline that Erikson sets up. The story takes place on the continent of Genabackis, where the armies of the Malazan Empire are fighting for supremacy against the local city-states. An elite Malazan military unit is at the center of this story. The novel
Gardens of the Moon describes a Malazan attempt to take control of the city of Darujhistan.

In the third book, Memories of Ice, Erickson continues the unresolved storylines. Disgraced Malazan armies reunite with their former enemies to face a new, common threat.

The second storyline is set on the subcontinent of the Seven Cities and depicts a major native uprising against Malazan rule. Book Two, “Teadhouse Gates”, recounts the outbreak of this uprising and focuses on the relentless pursuit of the war-torn units of the Malazan army. The fourth novel focuses on the continuation of this storyline.

The third storyline is covered in the fifth book, Midnight Tides. This novel introduces a previously unknown continent where two nations are at war.

The three storylines are brought together in the sixth book, The Bonehunters.