“Lightbringer is a fantasy series by American author Brent Weeks. After its release in 2014, it quickly became a bestseller.
The story is set in a kingdom consisting of 7 countries ruled by Satrapies. The Satrapi are largely independent in their rule, but are under a central government. It is the seat of all bodies concerned with the control of color magic. The governing council consists of 7 “colors” distributed so that each satrapy has one representative and one vote.
The magic itself is based on the principle of chromaturgy, where light is the means of creating luskin. But this ability has a limit. If one of the weighed exceeds its capabilities, it becomes a “colored rabies” and must be removed.

There are different pullers that can handle different colors. To use color, the skilled must see it somewhere in their environment or use special colored glasses that help them filter out sunlight. Most are only able to attract one color and are called monochromes. The stronger ones can handle two colors and are called bichromes. The rarest and most valuable are the polychromes, which can extract luxin from multiple colors. Only the Prism can harness the magic of all colors and is also able to break down sunlight into its component parts. Only one person per generation is destined to be a “full spectrum puller”. Prisms usually die after 7, 14 or 21 years of service.

Lightbringer Series

Plot of “Lightbringer”

The plot revolves around the War of the False Prisms and its aftermath. Despite the belief that there is only one Prism per generation, the two brothers Gavin and Dazen display the same abilities. Gavin is the elder and was trained as a prism as a child. Dazen is the pretender to the throne. The ensuing war destroys Tyrea. Almost all the men of the kingdom are killed and the fertile Temea is destroyed. As a result of the loss, the Tyreans are punished by having no representative in the Council of Chromaria. Garriston, their only port and source of income, is occupied in turn by the other satrapies. The oppression awakens in the Tyrians a thirst for revenge. King Garadul raises his own army of colored fiends and migratory birds. He sets out to conquer Garriston and destroy Chromaria.

Books in the series:

  1. The Black Prism (2010)
  2. The Blinding Knife (2012)
  3. The Broken Eye (2014)
  4. The Blood Mirror (2016)
  5. The Burning White (2019)