Chris Wooding is a bestselling author in the fantasy, science fiction, and horror thriller genres. He was born in 1977 in Leicester, England. As a child, he began reading C.S. Lewis, Tolkien, Orson Scott Card, Terry Brooks, Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and James Herbert, and dreamed of becoming a writer.

At the age of 16, he began writing his first novel and by the age of 18, Wooding had an agent and his book was accepted for publication. To realize his dream, Chris Wooding completed a BA in English Literature at Sheffield University.

Chris Wooding

Chris Wooding’s works have been translated into over twenty languages.

His works include:

Braided Path
The Weavers of Saramyr (2003)
The Skein of Lament (2004)
The Ascendancy Veil (2005)

Malice (2009)
Havoc (2010)

Tales of the Ketty Jay
Retribution Falls (2009)
The Black Lung Captain (2010)
The Iron Jackal (2011)
The Ace of Skulls (2013)

The Darkwater Legacy
The Ember Blade (2019)
The Shadow Casket (2023)

Standalone novels
Crashing (1998)
Catchman (1998)
Kerosene (1999)
Broken Sky series (1999–2001)
The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray (2001)
Poison (2003)
Storm Thief (2006)
The Fade (2007)
Pandemonium (2012)
Silver (2013)
Velocity (2015)